

| 2 Pine Tree Drive, Suite 306 | Arden Hills, MN 55112 | 651-582-8888 | bosa.mn.gov |

Board of School Administrators (BOSA) Annual Fee FAQ

We have a responsibility as professionals to ensure that people entering the role of school administration and continuing as school administrators have high-quality preparation programs, ongoing professional development, and support throughout their careers.

Why is this so important? Research tells us that the quality of leadership makes a difference in the student achievement results and the lives of the students and staff.

What is BOSA?

BOSA is a ten-member Board that was appointed by the Governor in 2001. BOSA's main duties include:

- Providing fair, responsive counsel in the areas of ethics and standards of practice in the event a complaint is made against an administrator.
- Licensing of Minnesota school administrators.
- Processing requests for licensure variances.
- Reviewing and approving preparation programs for school administrators and alternative programs for administrators.
- Processing requests for issuing continuing education units (CEUs or clock hours) for educational administrative professional development.

Minnesota State Statute Requiring BOSA Fee

The Minnesota Board of School Administrator's annual fee is mandated by legislation. This revenue supports the organization under the Minnesota State Statute. (122A.14 Subd. 9. requiring BOSA Fee) This fee is paid annually.

When and where do I pay the annual BOSA fee?

Administrators/districts can submit payment starting November of each year through January of the following year. Visit the <u>BOSA website</u> and select "Pay the Annual BOSA Fee" to submit payment.

Why do I have to pay the BOSA fee?

Minnesota State law requires anyone who holds an administrative license to pay the annual BOSA fee. <u>MN Statute 122A.14 Subd. 9.</u>

Are retired administrators required to pay the BOSA fee?

Yes. Although you may be retired and not currently working, anyone who holds an administrative license in the State of Minnesota is required to pay the annual BOSA fee. Retired administrators are required to pay a reduced fee of \$50.

What is the difference between the fee to renew my license and the BOSA fee?

BOSA's annual fee is mandated by legislation. This revenue supports the organization under Minnesota State Statute. (<u>122A.14 Subd. 9.</u>) This fee is paid annually.

An administrative license fee is paid for license renewal. This payment is made every two or five years, depending on the license type being renewed. (How to renew your license)

Am I considered active or inactive?

You are considered to be an active administrator when you are working within a role that requires an administrative license.

You are considered to be an inactive administrator when you are not working within a role that requires an administrative license.

I have my administrative license, but I am not currently in an administrative role. Do I pay the fee?

Yes. As long as you hold an administrative license in the State of Minnesota, you are required to pay the annual BOSA fee by <u>Minnesota State Statute 122A.14 Subd 9</u>. If you are not working in an administrative role, you are required to pay the inactive fee (\$50).

I have a provisional license/initial license. Do I need to pay the BOSA fee?

Yes, a person with a provisional or initial administrative license must pay the BOSA fee.

I do not plan to use my license for several years. Can I let my administrative license lapse, not pay the BOSA fee, and then renew my license when needed?

There could be negative consequences for letting an administrative license lapse. Relicensure requirements for reinstating a license may change. BOSA recommends keeping your license up-to-date to avoid unnecessary negative consequences.

I'm an administrator at a charter school. Do I pay the annual fee?

If you hold an administrative license in the State of Minnesota, you are required to pay the annual fee, regardless of what educational system you work in. If you are licensed as the Executive Director, Director, or Principal, you must pay the active fee (\$100).

I'm currently working outside of Minnesota. Do I need to pay the annual fee?

Although you may be working outside of Minnesota, anyone who holds an administrative license from the State of Minnesota is required to pay the annual BOSA fee. You would be required to pay the \$50 inactive fee.

Has your question not been addressed? Please reach out to us!

Info.Bosa@state.mn.us