

January 31, 2022 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Board Members Present: Nancy Antoine, Mary Frances Clardy, Drew Hildenbrand, Melissa Schaller,

Tracy Reimer, Scott Wallner, Jinger Gustafson, Louise Sundin, Jill Lofald,

Christine Osorio

Board Members Excused:

Staff: Dr. Tony Kinkel, Executive Director, Marquetta Stokes, Administrative

Assistant. Bill Bjorum, Administrative Specialist for out-of-state candidates

Public Guest: Eugene Picolo, Executive Director, MN Association of Charter Schools

Daron Korte, MDE Assistant Commissioner, Student Support Services

Paula Higgins, MDE Director, Charter School Center

Matthew Poret, MNIT, Chief Business Technology Officer

Rich Westgard, MNIT,

Elisabeth O'Connell, Public Guest

Mrs. Jessica, Public Guest

CONVENE: MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER BY Chair, Nancy Antoine at 11:03 a.m.

APPROVAL TO AMEND THE 1/31/2022 AGENDA (Closed Session-End of Meeting): Name: Nancy Antoine, MOVED to approve the agenda. Name: Jill Lofald, SECOND. MOTION CARRIED. Roll Call Taken

Antoine	Aye	Clardy Aye	Schaller Aye	Sundin Aye
Lofald	Aye	Wallner Aye	Gustafson Aye	

Osorio Aye Reimer Aye Hildenbrand Aye

APPROVAL OF 12/20/2022 MINUTES: Name: Drew Hildenbrand, MOVED to approve the minutes. Name: Mary Frances Clardy, SECOND. MOTION CARRIED. Roll Call Taken

Antoine	Aye	Clardy Aye	Schaller Aye	Sundin A	ye
Lofald	Aye	Wallner Aye	Gustafson Aye		
Osorio	Aye	Reimer Aye	Hildenbrand Aye		

Marquetta Stokes Report

- a) February board meeting will be in-person.
- b) Photographer for February board meeting.
- c) BOSA board members to receive clock hours for being on the board and committees. Clock hours will be distributed in June 2022 and December 2022.
- d) Thank you to the board for allowing me to be a part of interview search committee.
- e) Jan's photo is in the BOSA board room.
- BOSA website for the approved CEU events is now inputting agency/organization registration link.
- g) Thank you board for investing in my education to help me move forward to a better future.

Dr. Bill Bjorum's Report

a) Reviewed 95 cases so far

Executive Director's Report

- a) Update on the hiring of Dr. Bjorum's position (posted through Feb. 14)
- b) A discussion with MDE and the Minnesota Association of Charter Schools on possible legislation involving charter schools (see attachment)
- c) Eugene Piccolo, executive director, Minnesota Association of Charter Schools Paula Higgins, MDE Director, Charter School Center
- d) Daron Korte, MDE Assistant Commissioner, Student Support Services
- e) Update on the revised 2022 Management Financial Report (MFR)
- f) Update on re-designing the automated fee collection system (Matt Porett, MNIT)
- I. **Board, MOVED** to approve the MNIT proposal for a new mainframe and payment system re-design. **MOTION CARRIED. Roll Call Taken.**

Antoine	Aye	Clardy Aye	Schaller Aye	Sundin	Aye
Lofald	Aye	Wallner Aye	Gustafson Aye		
Osorio	Aye	Reimer Aye	Hildenbrand Aye		

- g) Update on the executive director's re-classification effort.
- h) Update on possible legislation giving BOSA legislative rule-making authority to draft new rules on creating a new license (or microcredential) on EL.

The Board of School Administrators met today and again offered their support for permissive language allowing the board authority to consider rule-making for an EL Certificate. An example of the language would be "the Board of School Administrators may conduct rule-making for the purposes of ... "

i) Update on the University of Minnesota Review for Feb. 16-18. Membership includes:

Dr. Jinger Gustafson, *state board member*, administrative preparation program director at the Minnesota State University—Mankato

Dr. Jennifer Cherry, assistant superintendent, Stillwater Public Schools

Bob Driver, Executive Director, Minnesota Secondary School Principals Association, and former principal at Michael -St. Albertville

Brian Siverson-Hall, director of community education, Osseo School District

Kevin Donovan, school board member, Mahtomedi School District

Dr. Alecia Mobley, director of special education, Richfield School District

Dr. Stephen O'Connor, Associate Professor and Program Chair for the Education Leadership Administrator Licensing Program, Concordia University

Committee Reports:

a. Licensing Committee

Melissa Schaller, MOVED to approve the variance request from the Hasting Public School District for Thomas Fritze to for sixty days to complete his licensure program. Christine Osorio, SECOND. MOTION CARRIED. Roll Call Taken.

Scott Wallner, MOVED to approve the variance for Lucas Kosters to extend his license until June 30, 2023 to obtain 125 administrative clock hours on behalf of the Sauk Centre Public School District. Melissa Schaller, SECOND. MOTION CARRIED. Roll Call Taken.

Melissa Schaller, MOVED to approve the variance licensure for Alonzo Parks to extend his provisional license for sixty days to finalize the Mankato State Panel process. Jill Lofald, SECOND. MOTION CARRIED. Roll Call Taken.

b. Ethics Committee

- 2 conduct reviews
- 3 cases dismissed
- 3 cases continued
- 4 new cases
- 1 suspended license
- c. Communication/Legislative Update No Report
- d. Professional Development/Program Review No meeting
- e. MDE Report No Report
- f. Board Member Report No Report
- g. Public Comments None
- h. New Business Executive Director interviews completed and awaiting an offer
- i. Adjournment
- II. **Jill Lofald, MOVED** to approve the motion to adjourn and go into a closed session at the end of the board meeting. **Scott Wallner, SECOND. MOTION CARRIED. Roll Call Taken.**

Antoine	Aye	Clardy	Aye	Schaller	Aye	Sundin	Aye
Lofald	Aye	Wallner	Aye	Gustafson	Aye		

Osorio Aye Reimer Aye Hildenbrand Aye

Meeting adjourned at 1:20p.m. Next Meeting – February 21, 2021

Respectfully submitted by Marquetta Stokes, Administrative Assistant